Google will soon warn users of “Repeat Offender” websites

Google wants to make the Internet a safer place to surf, it is after all the realm of Google’s existence. The Internet company will be taking those efforts in a slightly different direction. When a site engages in malicious behavior of any sort, such as phishing, Google is usually able to catch them in the act. When they do, they will warn users in Chrome and their search results about the site thanks to a service called “Safe Browsing”.

The company has revealed that these Safe Browsing warnings will expand to sites that it calls “repeat offenders”.

safe-browsing-840x598.jpg

Google’s Safe Browsing service continues to warn users away from a site, which normally consists of a pre-site screen where the user is told that the site is dangerous and must confirm that they want to proceed, until the service is able to verify that the issue has been solved. On the surface, this sounds as thought it would work pretty well, and for the most part, it does.

There are a few sites that Google noticed, however, that undergo a “reform” and when they no longer seemed to pose a threat to the web surfing public, Google removes the site warnings but they subsequently revert to their old malicious ways. These are the sites Google terms as ‘repeat offenders.’

Google says that activity will now be flagged by Safe Browsing, and the site will be labeled as a “Repeat Offender”.  It adds:

Once Safe Browsing has determined that a site is a Repeat Offender, the webmaster will be unable to request additional reviews via the Search Console for 30 days, and warnings will continue to show to users. When a site is established as a Repeat Offender, the webmaster will be notified via email to their registered Search Console email address.

Google’s policy is to label a site hazardous if any of the content, ads or otherwise, engages in phishing, social engineering, pushing malware, or pushing unwanted software. It is important to note that the new repeat offender branding will not apply to sites that are hacked; this means that a site that has malicious content, changes their ways, then gets hacked and includes malicious content again won’t get the label. It will only be used for sites which are designed specifically to attack web users.

Safe Browsing is not only present in a number of Google products, but they’ve opened the API to developers, meaning that being labeled a repeat offender could result in traffic reduction through just about all channels.

Source : Google

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s